Using Azure ACS in a web application through WIF.

WIF SDK:
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=4451
Download the : WindowsIdentityFoundation-SDK-4.0.msi
MVC3:
Download the Web Platform Installer.  THen select MVC tools (this will allow the razor engine to be installed as well) 
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=6164
 
Application Portal for Azure
https://portal.appfabriclabs.com/

Some ACS Setup First.

Setup the relying parties (Know your local Web server start and landing URI’s)

 Setup the Rule Group:
 
 
 
Use the WIF plugin within Visual Studio.
 

 

 

Your web.config should be altered like so:

Categories: AZURE

3 replies »

  1. Hi,
    That is a very elaborate representation. Thank you.
    however, I have a query. Suppose all my web apps (using browsers) have to be integrated with a single custom IDP only, and will never deal with any other IDP, can I build my apps so that they will directly trust the IDP and there will not be any role for ACS.

    What are the pros and cons of such a view…

    1. If apps don’t have to integrate with any other IDP, I see no problem.
    2. If there is a restriction that an app has to trust only an ACS for tokens, then this makes sense. But why should this be the case.

    As I am seeing it, ACS is playing a role as an STS only. I am not yet sure of session management for applications in Azure.

    so I want to know what I am missing here if we have to go with ACS only for federated authentication and authorization.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Kanduri

  2. We stumbled over here different web address and thought I may as well check
    things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page again.

Leave a Reply

